Summer Lovin’

Confession: I hate summer.

Sorry, I know everyone has these “pretty” views of frolicking on the beach, toasting marshmallows on the bonfire, camping somewhere picturesque and enjoying a cheeky cocktail by a pool.

But this is Australia. In fact, this is Perth. It’s hotter than the surface of the sun for about five months of the year. In fact, even though it’s June (ie: winter!) we’re still getting temperatures of 26 degrees (that’s 78 degrees for those of you who only speak in Fahrenheit).

So basically, at the height of summer when temperatures are regularly north of 40 degrees, frolicking on the beach will get you heatstroke, toasting marshmallows on a bonfire will get you fined by a Parks and Wildlife ranger (we have TOTAL firebans out here) not to mention make you all sweaty because it’s still 4000 degrees at 10pm and camping somewhere picturesque will result in being bitten by something with either many or no legs and will end with a visit to the nearest emergency room. The only thing I can happily partake in is a cheeky cocktail by a pool. (Except I currently can’t do that because I’m breastfeeding. And it’s winter. Maybe in six months time I can enjoy a Southern Buster.)

Hint: A Southern Buster (recipe found in my Granddad’s ancient cocktail book) is something you should definitely try – half a shot of brandy, a quarter shot of dry vermouth, a quarter shot of lime cordial, topped up with ginger beer and garnished with a slice of lemon. Thank me later.

This months Pixel Scrapper blog train is Summer Lovin’ and even though I don’t love summer, I figured I’d partake anyway (because the colour palette is TO DIE FOR!)

Now it’s time for a game I like to call “Spot the whopping huge mistake” or, if you’d prefer “I can’t believe I missed that”.

Look closely. It says “12 plain papers” on my solids pack. Yeah, that’s wrong. You actually get 14 plain papers (with two different textures). Sorry for that – I should really change it but I won’t because the baby will be awake in about 6 seconds and I’ve only managed to drink half a cup of tea, so you’re just going to have to cope with an incorrect preview page. (You’re grown-ups, you can manage, right?)

Download cardstock (Dropbpx – 32mb)
Download papers (Dropbox – 38mb)

If DropBox asks you to create an account or sign in after you click the “Direct Download” button and you don’t want to, then just click “No thanks, continue to download” that’s usually at the bottom of the pop-up.

Terms of Use: PU/S4H/S4O/CU. You may use this content personally or commercially as long as you are a small business owner (ie: sole trader working from home). Credit is required for commercial use.

Enjoy your papers, enjoy your cheeky cocktail by a pool and can someone please have a drink for me!

 

22 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’

  1. Hi, Sally – thank you so much for your gorgeous papers. I live in Queensland (Gympie to be precise), and I totally agree with you about summer – give me winter any day! Well, such as it is here! We don’t really have much of a winter!

  2. Sally I am with you on disliking Summer!!! Here in South Carolina USA, we are in the upper 90’s with 100% humidity with heat indexs over 100 and August is on the way… Our hottest month!!! Sweat sweat and sweat all there is!!! With prayers the AC holds on AGAIN!!!! But I love your papers!!! The colors are fantastic!!! They are gorgeous!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!! ps Will have a Long Island Ice Tea for you!!! In the comfort of my AC LOL

  3. Thank you so much for the fun papers and read !!!!! I would love to try your Grandads recipe but I haven’t seen Ginger Beer in forever. I’ll make a Strawberry Margarita for you instead. PS I live in Canada and apparently we only do real beer….. LOL

  4. Thank you so much for your awesome papers!! I am a Perth girl too (well I live 2 hours south of Perth) but I LOVE summer and can’t wait for the really hot weather to arrive!!

  5. Thank you for your contribution. I visited Perth many moons ago and loved it, but it was damn hot! I was there in November so summer was in full swing. I feel lucky to have mild winters but our summers get quite hot too. I’ll enjoy a drink for you tonight – I’ll need it in the heat. 🙂

  6. Thanks for sharing! i live in Malaysia, deep in the tropics, hot and sticky all year round, so even though i enjoy the visuals of a day by the beach and occasionally let the kids indulge in such a day, it’s not really something i would jump at. Funny how different people from different places have totally different feelings about things, though the mental picture is the same. Hehe!

  7. Thank-you, Sally, for your lovely contribution to the BT and to my reading pleasure. I love all the cheeky (or tongue-in-cheek) comments on your blog. It is LOL reading. Keep on writing and designing.
    Blessed Be.

  8. Thank you so much for these awesome papers! I had no clue about the weather where you are and I’d have to agree, I wouldn’t think of summer in the same way we do here in the U.S.’s MidWest (Ohio). Thank you for the recipe as well…I may indeed be back “thanking you later”;)!!

  9. Sally – thank you so much for the gorgeous papers! I’d have a cold drink for you but it’s so chilly here in WMass right now that I’m in my Uggs & a sweatshirt while wrapped in a throw warming my hands with a cup of coffee. This has been one of the oddest summers yet – a couple of really hot & humid 90+° (yes, I speak Fahrenheit) days, a number of gloriously dry warm sunny days (mid-70s to mid-80s) & in between all of this, grey cool-to-downright-chilly days. I promise to have a glass of wine with dinner, if that helps. 😉

    And I do love summer – but not Perth’s kind of summer. And not Florida’s either. I lived there for four years going to grad school & from May 1-October 1 it was 95° with 95% humidity & if we were lucky the temps would go below 72° at night. With the humidity, it was like walking through a very fine mist & everything unair-conditioned was constantly on the damp, sticky side. Yuck.

    I hope your winter goes better than our summer currently is – & thanks again for the lovely papers!

Leave a Reply

